DIY selling :/ a hard lesson

So I was super proud of selling my first piece in my last blog post. Sadly, it had a bad ending. I was attempting to sell on Mercari, an app like poshmark for resale ( Use my code MSHFAW to join Mercari and get $2 off your first purchase!

https://www.mercari.com/dl

A truly fantastic app they even sell products like Lush for super great prices! Anyways, my lesson was learned though the hard way. I had someone buy my beautiful lamp. They even paid for the shipping I’d chosen.  $15 dollars to cover something 20 lbs. I was ecstatic because my lamp, although heavy, didn’t weigh near 20 lbs. So I March my happy ass down to the post office on my lunch break. I don’t even make it 2 feet in the door before they tell me they can’t ship it. 1st problem… I was disappointed but not to be undone. I went after work to the ups store! I where guess what? They could ship it! For the low cost of 130 bucks :/ not to mention they said no matter what I did the shade would be crushed in transit. Well I bought boxes and cheap stuffing material to at least cut the cost down a little, and then headed home. Only to realize it still would cost about 80 bucks.  So I messaged the woman and explained the situation to her. She understood and we cancelled her order with full refund. And from now on I will stick with selling in my area. I Love  Letgo ( here’s a link to my account http://app.letgo.com/k8Mk/KQsOIjMLzE

Take a look at everything I’m selling on letgo!! ) Its a community based barter/buy/sell/ trade  and it’s amazing!  There’s also of course Facebook market and the many buy/sell/trade pages within 20 miles of me. I cross post and get hundreds of views in hours! So lesson learned… and I’m expecting great things to come!! 

Leave a comment