DIY your way out of debt!

Hello my name is Bex, I’m going to use this blog to chronicle my journey as a deeply in debt single mom, to debt free! I’m starting my own up-cycle business, thrifting and repainting, fixing up items for resale! I sold my very first item today so I’m going to try to keep you posted on what works and what doesn’t! I’ll also be including info on other ways I manage to save money on a small budget! I’ve made some poor choices in the last few years and I’m finally about to get on track! I’ll be sharing links, tips, and apps that will help you save and meet your goals, if you’re in debt or not!

Since it’s a special day, first blog post, and first sale!! I want to put up some pics of this particular project! I’m actually super proud of how well it turned out!

 

I bought this lamp at a thrift store, it was super heavy so I knew it was ceramic or cast iron. there were a few chips, but nothing too noticeable. Plus I loved the blank canvas of the large shade! I bought some black spray paint, (the 3-4 dollar kind), I had silver Rub and Buff from Michaels ( find it here  https://www.michaels.com/rub-n-buff-wax-metallic-finish/M10183569.html ) and a high gloss spray! I sprayed it down with black paint first, I went over it with two coats to make sure it got in all the creases and little patterns. I then used tiny amounts of silver rub and buff to really pull out the details in the ceramic with a small sponge.

 

I still wanted some of the black to shine through, giving it that aged, distressed type look. ( side note, rub and buff ain’t cheap guys, but I swear to you I’ve used one tube on like 8 projects and it lasts forever! A little goes a long way with this stuff!)

So the base was exactly what I wanted, but now on to the shade!! I had a stencil I’d been dying to use, and a perfect blank canvas with the shade! So I got my trusty chalk paint that I keep around always… and went after it!!

 

I stenciled the shade with black chalk paint and then lightly sponged silver rub and buff over it so it would sparkle a little! Then I used fabric glue to trim the top and bottom with silver ribbon! VOILA this is the piece I sold today! I tripled what I spent on it! I’m super proud *happy dance* and can’t wait to keep posting about my journey getting out of debt! Happy thrifting y’all!

2 thoughts on “DIY your way out of debt!

Leave a comment